The San Mateo Operational Area Emergency Services Organization (Emergency Services Council)


Click here to see the presentation slides from the September 20th, 2018 meeting.

The San Mateo Operational Area Emergency Services Council is comprised of all local governments within the geographic area of the County, special districts, unincorporated areas, and participating non-governmental entities. The purpose of the organization is to operate pursuant to Presidential Directive 5, the National Response Framework, National Incident Management System (NIMS), Presidential Directive 8, the National Preparedness Goal and California's Standardized Emergency Management System (SEMS) and local adopted Emergency Operations Plans and Annexes. The Emergency Services Councils collective goal is to provide coordinated plans for the protection of persons and property based on the five phases of emergency management, prevention, protection, response, recovery and mitigation; and support existing regional Public Information and Notification systems to include SMC Alert and TENS, as well as other Situational Awareness Tools; and, to continue to support the regional hazardous materials emergency response program.

Click here to view the Emergency Services Council agendas and meeting dates.

To see the video recording of the January 18th, 2018 meeting click here.

Video recording of past Emergency Services Council meetings.

Joint Powers Agreement (JPA)

Council Representatives

Council Member City
Cary Wiest         Atherton
Davina Hurt         Belmont
Clarke Conway         Brisbane
Emily Beach         Burlingame
Diana Colvin         Colma
Glenn Sylvester         Daly City
Lisa Gauthier         East Palo Alto
Charles Bronitsky         Foster City
Deborah Penrose         Half Moon Bay
Marie Chuang         Hillsborough
Cecilia Taylor         Menlo Park
Ann Schneider         Millbrae
Sue Digre         Pacifica
John Richards         Portola Valley
Ian Bain         Redwood City
Rico Medina         San Bruno
Matt Grocott         San Carlos
Diane Papan         San Mateo
Mark Addiego         South San Francisco
Daniel Yost         Woodside
David Canepa         County of San Mateo

Hazardous Material Team

Hazardous materials response, mitigation and clean-up for San Mateo County is managed by the Belmont Fire Protection District's Hazardous Materials Team through a contractual agreement between the County of San Mateo, the Emergency Services Council and the Belmont Fire Protection District.

The San Mateo County Hazardous Materials Team is a partnership between Belmont Fire Protection District, San Mateo County Environmental Health and the San Mateo County Office of Emergency Services through the San Mateo County Emergency Services Council. It has been providing service to all areas of San Mateo County since 1984. The Response Team is staffed 24/7/365 with seven cross-trained firefighters from Belmont, as well as an Environmental Health and an OES Officer.

The Team's primary response vehicle is a grant funded, state-of-the-art vehicle that transports most of the Team and its equipment. There are other assorted trailers with additional capability used by the Team, as well.

The Team is currently working with OES to acquire additional equipment necessary to become a "Type II" Team in the CalEMA (California Emergency Management Agency) State system.

Resource typing enhances emergency readiness and response at all levels of government through a system that allows an already overwhelmed jurisdiction to augment its response resources during an incident.